Subscribe to the RSS Feed

Subscribe to the RSS Feed

MLS Soccer League

An Introduction The MLS Soccer League

The MLS league is a soccer league for professionals based in the United States under the USSF (The United States Soccer Federation). The league consists of nineteen (19) teams from both Canada and America.

This league traces its roots back to the year 1993 whereby it was founded as part and parcel of the US bid to host the FIFA world cup come 1994. The league operates as a single entity format whereby each and every team is owned by the league but it is run by independent investors. The first season to ever take place under this league took place in the year 1996 with only ten teams. The MLS soccer season currently takes place starting from March to the month of December with each time participating for thirty four (34) games per year. After the season is over, ten teams are further selected to compete in the MLS Soccer League post season cup playoffs which culminate in the MLS cup championship game.

New York Red Bulls Henry Thierry MLS Player Of The Month

New York Red Bulls Henry Thierry MLS Player Of The Month

MLS Soccer Leque: Overview

The MLS soccer season runs starting from the month of much to the month of October every year with all of its 19 teams participating in a total of 34 games in an irregular schedule. The participating teams are divided into two conferences namely the Eastern conference and the western conference. As the yearly league is concluded, the team with the highest cumulative points is awarded with the supporters shield. Afterwards, the completion of the league is succeeded by a series of MLS playoffs which culminates with the MLS cup finals.
The MLS, known as the Major Leagues Soccer in full, consists of three berths namely the CONCACAF championship league, the U.S open cup and the Canadian championship.

Mls Major Leque Soccer – A Quick History

The MLS soccer league was officially established in the year 1996 with only ten teams namely: The Columbus Crew, The San Jose Clash, Los Angeles Galaxy, The Kansas City Wiz, The Dallas Burn, The Colorado Rapids, The Tampa Bay mutiny, The NY/NJ metro stars, The D.C united and The new England revolution team. The onset of the league saw the D.C united team cement itself firmly on the first position for all the three maiden seasons. However, this jinx was broken in the year 1998 by the Chicago Fire which was one of the latest entrants into the league.
For the subsequent seasons, the MLS suffered a low limelight with fans snubbing most of its matches. The leagues fate further hang on the noose especially after the 1998 FIFA world cup whereby the US team, mainly consisting of MLS league players, was eliminated at the group stages.
Over the years the league has marketed itself and began hiring fresh and veteran talents into its fold. This sort of revolution saw the likes of Damarcus Breasley, Landon Donovan, Brian McBride, Clint Mathis and Eddie Pope taking the prospective of the league to the next level.

By 2002 the MLS soccer league had completely re-drafted its philosophy and now chose to focus more on nurturing the American soccer talent. This move ushered its rise and rise into the hall of fame.

MLS Ownership

As we have seen earlier, the MLS soccer league operates as a single entity structure consisting of teams owned by the league and sponsored by independent investors. In order to put the costs under control, the league allocates revenues, holds players contracts and as well negotiates contracts on behalf of its players. Currently the MLS is aiming at issuing distinctive ownership to its clubs especially after attaining significant profitability within the last few years.

MLA Stadiums

Since its establishment, the league has overseen the completion of twelve new soccer stadiums. The first stadium to be constructed under the oversight of the MLS is the Columbus Crew Stadium. These success opened the doors for the construction of the other eleven stadiums with the Los Angeles Galaxy (Home Depot Centre), the FC Dallas (Pizza Hut Park) and the Colorado Rapid’s (Dick’s sporting soccer park) following in that respective order. Let us take a look at the MLS soccer league current standings.

Current MLS Soccer League Standing – as of April 2012


1.Kansas City 15points
2. Newyork Red Bulls 9 points
3.Houston 6 points
4.New England 6 points
5.Columbus 6 points
6.DC united 5 points
7.Chicago 4 points
8.Montreal Impact 4 points
9.Philadelphia Union 1
10.Toronto FC 0 points


1.Real Salt Lake 15 points
2.San Jose 12 points
3.Colorado 9 points
4.Vancouver Whitecaps 8 points
5.Seattle Sounders FC 7 points
6.FC Dallas 7 points
7.Chivas USA 6 points
8.Portland Timbers 4 points
9.Los Angeles 3 points